Sunday, July 15, 2012

Mission Statement

My name is Rebekah and I was diagnosed with celiac disease in early 2011. Now, there are a million and one beauty bloggers out there, but none - to my knowledge, until now - that only review gluten-free products. I plan on committing to fill this need and niche. Because I cannot use or consume any products or food containing gluten, I guarantee that every product reviewed here will be gluten-free according to its ingredients list. I don't plan on only focusing on products marketed as gluten-free, but I simply won't be using (therefore reviewing) anything that isn't. This blog is not only for those with gluten-related issues, but for any beauty enthusiast. As most products tend to be gluten-free, there will be something for everyone.

Now, what is gluten? Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley, bulgur, durum, farina, graham, rye, semolina, spelt, triticale, einkorn, emmer, kamut, and oats. What is celiac disease? Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder where when gluten enters the body, the body attacks itself.

For those with celiac's, gluten intolerance, gluten sensitivity, etcetera:
Some ingredients recognized by the FDA to contain gluten (list provided to me by L'Oreal Paris during an inquiry) include: avena sativa (oat) kernal flour, avena sativa (oat) kernal extract, avena sativa (oat) kernal oil, avena sativa (oat) bran, cocodimonium hydroxypropyl hydrolyzed wheat protein, cyclodextrin, dextrin, dextrin palmitate, disodium wheatgermamphodiacetate, hodeum vulgare extract, hydrolyzed malt extract, hydrolyzed oat flour, hydrolyzed oat protein, hydrolyzed oats, hydrolyzed wheat flour, hydrolyzed wheat gluten, hydrolyzed wheat protein, hydrolyzed wheat protein/PVP crosspolymer, hydrolyzed wheat starch, hydroxypropyltrimonium hydrolyzed wheat protein, laurdimonium hydroxypropyl hydrolyzed wheat protein, malt extract, maltodextrin (which, according to my own research, does not contain gluten), secale cereale (rye) seed flour, sodium C8-16 isoalkylsuccinyl wheat protein sulfonate, sodium lauroyl oat amino acid, triticum vulgare (wheat) germ extract, triticum vulgare (wheat) germ oil, triticum vulgare (wheat) gluten, triticum vulgare (wheat) starch, wheat amino acids, wheat germ glycerides, wheat germamidopropalkonium chloride, wheat protein, wheatgermamidopropyl ethyldimonium ethosulfate, and yeast extract (which again, is actually gluten free unless it is brewers yeast). I've contacted several companies regarding what they say is gluten-free and what is not (many were incorrect, but simply added ingredients to their lists of those containing gluten that did not actually - like above). The best list I've found so far belongs to a company called Gluten Free Beauty (none of their products I have used yet or can vouch for). My advice is to be wary, keep up to date with FDA regulations, and of course, read a lot.

No comments:

Post a Comment